2020 Endorsements

Political Event

SEIU Local 1000 represents 96,000 unionized workers across our great state. With so much at stake in this election, we are endorsing the candidates and ballot initiatives below that present our members—and all Californians—with the best opportunity to have a good life, live in sustainable communities, and enjoy the fruits of social, economic, and environmental justice.

US President

          Joe Biden

California Assembly            

District Candidate
AD-31 Joaquin Arambula
AD-32 Rudy Salas
AD-35 Dawn Addis
AD-37 Steve Bennett
AD-39 Luz Rivas
AD-40 James Ramos
AD-41 Chris Holden
AD-43 Laura Friedman
AD-44 Jacqui Irwin
AD-45 Jesse Gabriel
AD-46 Adrin Nazarian
AD-47 Eloise Gomez Reyes
AD-49 Ed Chau
AD-50 Richard Bloom
AD-51 Wendy Carrillo
AD-52 Freddie Rodriguez
AD-52 Miguel Santiago
AD-54 Sydney Kamlager
AD-55 Andrew Rodriguez
District Candidate
AD-56 Eduardo Garcia
AD-57 Lisa Calderon
AD-58 Cristina Garcia
AD-59 Reggie Jones-Sawyer
AD-60 Sabrina Cervantes
AD-61 Jose Medina
AD-62 Autumn Burke
AD-63 Anthony Rendon
AD-64 Mike Gipson
AD-66 Al Muratsuchi
AD-68 Melissa Fox
AD-70 Patrick O’Donnell
AD-72 Diedre Thu-Ha Nguyen
AD-74 Cottie Petrie-Norris
AD-76 Tasha Boerner Horvath 
AD-77 Brian Maienschein
AD-78 Chris Ward
AD-79 Shirley Weber
AD-80 Lorena Gonzalez
District  Candidate  
AD-01 Elizabeth Betancourt
AD-02 Jim Wood
AD-04 Cecilia Aguilar-Curry
AD-07 Kevin McCarty
AD-10 Marc Levine
AD-13 Kathy Miller
AD-15 Buffy Wicks
AD-16 Rebecca Bauer-Kahan
AD-17 David Chiu
AD-18 Rob Bonta
AD-19 Phil Ting
AD-20 Bill Quirk
AD-22 Kevin Mullin
AD-24 Marc Berman
AD-25 Alex Lee
AD-26 Drew Phelps
AD-27 Ash Kalra
AD-28 Evan Low
AD-29 Mark Stone
AD-30 Robert Rivas


California Senate

District Candidate
SD-05 Susan Eggman
SD-09 Nancy Skinner
SD-11 Scott Wiener
SD-13 Josh Becker
SD-15 Dave Cortese
SD-17 John Laird
SD-19 Monique Limon
SD-21 Kipp Mueller
SD-23 Abigail Medina
District Candidate
SD-25 Anthony Portantino
SD-27 Henry Stern
SD-29 Josh Newman
SD-31 Richard Roth
SD-33 Lena Gonzalez
SD-35 Steven Bradford
SD-37 Dave Min
SD-39 Toni Atkins

Ballot Measures

Description Local 1000
Prop 15

Schools and Communities First

Proposition 15 raises $12 billion per year for schools and communities by closing corporate property tax loopholes while protecting homes, farms, and small businesses

Prop 16

Opportunity for All

Allows California to consider race and gender with the goal of creating equal opportunities and eliminating discrimination in state contracts, hiring, and college admissions

Prop 17

Restores Voting Rights for Parolees

Allows people on parole for felony convictions to vote after their state or federal prison term ends. It’s often people of color in underserved communities that lose their voting rights, as opposed to those in wealthier communities that can afford the best lawyers, making this proposition especially timely.

Prop 18

Expands Access to Voting for Young People

Allows citizens who will be 18-years-old at the time of the general election to vote in the primary election when they are 17

Prop 20

Repealing Criminal Justice Reform

Increases prison sentences for minor crimes by expanding the use of felony charges, further restricting parole, and requiring participation in DNA databases

Prop 21

Limits Rent Increases

Gives local communities the power to stop out of control rent increases

Prop 22

Eliminates Protections for App-Based Workers

Exempts Uber, Lyft, and other gig workers from basic worker protections like minimum wage, workers’ compensation, and unemployment insurance

Prop 23

Protects Dialysis Patients

Requires stronger protections for dialysis patients and stronger oversight of the industry.

Prop 25

Ends Money Bail

Ends wasteful and unfair money bail and creates a better system based on public safety instead of the ability to pay


US Congress

District Candidate
CD-01 Audrey Denney
CD-08 Chris Bubser
CD-10 Josh Harder
CD-12 Nancy Pelosi
CD-13 Barbara Lee
CD-14 Jackie Speier
CD-15 Eric Swalwell
CD-18 Anna Eshoo 
CD-19 Zoe Lofgren
CD-20 Jimmy Panetta
CD-21 T.J. Cox
CD-24 Salud Carbajal
CD-25 Christy Smith
District Candidate
CD-26 Julia Brownley
CD-27 Judy Chu
CD-28 Adam Schiff
CD-29 Tony Cardenas
CD-30 Brad Sherman
CD-31 Pete Aguilar 
CD-33 Ted Lieu
CD-34 Jimmy Gomez
CD-35 Norma Torres
CD-36 Raul Ruiz
CD-37 Karen Bass 
CD-38 Linda Sanchez 
CD-39 Gil Cisneros
District Candidate
CD-40 Lucille Roybal-Allard
CD-41 Mark Takano
CD-43 Maxine Waters
CD-44 Nanette Barragan
CD-45 Katie Porter
CD-47 Alan Lowenthal
CD-48 Harley Rouda
CD-49 Mike Levine
CD-50 Ammar Campa-Najjar
CD-51 Juan Vargas
CD-53 Georgette Gómez


Ad paid for by Service Employees International Union Local 1000
Not authorized by a candidate or committee controlled by a candidate.