Leadership Elections


Brown Named SEIU Local 1000 President

SEIU Local 1000 announced the results of their statewide elections May 24, 2021, and Richard Brown has been elected president.

Brown will be joined on his cabinet by David Jimenez, VP/Secretary-Treasurer, and  Anica Walls, VP for Organizing/Representation. The new officers will assume their duties on or about June 30, 2021. An election for Vice President for Bargaining has been ordered by the Election Protest committee. Read below for details.

Click here to view the full election results. 


New election ordered for Vice President for Bargaining position

The Local 1000 Protest Committee has granted a protest and ordered a new election for the Statewide Local 1000 office of Vice President for Bargaining. The Local 1000 Election Committee has established that this election for only this office will begin on July 2, 2021.

The election was deemed necessary after candidate election protests were granted. Two ineligible candidates for Vice President for Bargaining appeared on the original ballot due to an error that only affected this office. The original results of this race, announced on May 24, 2021, have been invalidated. Under the Local’s election policy, the incumbent will remain in office until the new election process is completed.

By Motion of the Local 1000 Election Committee, only active members of Local 1000, in good standing as of June 15, 2021 are eligible to vote in this election.

Ballots will arrive by mail, to the home mailing address on record with the Local. If you wish to verify your mailing address or if you have recently moved or changed addresses, please contact the Member Resource Center at 1-866-471-7348. Address corrections will not be taken after 5:00 pm on June 22, 2021.

Voting begins July 2, 2021. Ballots must be received inside of the sealed pre-addressed, postage paid return envelope that is provided, by 5:00 pm on August 2, 2021. Results will be announced on August 6, 2021.

A number of protests were filed concerning other races. None of the protests were found valid. As a result no further action is needed, except as reported above concerning the office of Vice President for Bargaining. All other election results are final.


Position Description – Vice President for Bargaining

The Vice President for Bargaining shall maintain budgetary responsibility for program “Bargaining Unit Activity,” assist the President or designee with master contract negotiations, and shall perform other duties as set forth in Policy File section 3CSD0.03.


2021 Vice President for Bargaining Expanded Key Dates

July 2, 2021 – Balloting Period Opens. Ballots mailed to members.
July 12, 2021 – First day to request a replacement ballot by calling the MRC (1-866-471-7348).

July 16 2021 – Last day to request a replacement ballot by calling the MRC (1-866- 471-7348). Requests must be made through the MRC by 5:00pm.

August 2, 2021 – Balloting Period Ends. 5:00 p.m. deadline for receipt of ballots. Ballots must be received inside of the sealed pre-addressed, postage paid return envelope that is provided. Ballots must be returned to 1100 Melody Lane, Roseville, CA 95678. Ballot opening and sorting begins at 1:00p. Observers welcome.

August 3, 2021 – Ballot opening and sorting continues beginning at 9:00am. 1100 Melody Lane, Roseville, CA 95678. Observers welcome.

August 4, 2021 – Ballot counting begins — 9:00 a.m., 1100 Melody Lane, Roseville, CA 95678. Observers welcome.

August 6, 2021 – Official results posted to seiu1000.org/leadership-elections by 5:00 p.m. Elected candidate will be notified.

August 6, 2021 – Protest period begins.

August 13, 2021 – Protest Period completed. All protests must be received no later than 5:00 p.m., and addressed to: Attn: President, SEIU Local 1000, 1808 14th Street, Sacramento, CA 95811.

August 20, 2021 -Protest Committee findings completed. Parties notified.


Local 1000 Election Committee

The SEIU Local 1000 Policy File, Division 12 Election Procedures requires the establishment of a member election committee. The primary responsibility is to oversee the election processes and compliance with the Policy File. The following members have been appointed and trained to carry out the leadership responsibilities of their prescribed duties.

Election Committee

Peter Ussery - Committee Chair
Myrna Lim
Samantha Colbert

Protest Committee

Michelle Chargois - Committee Chair
Elsa Wright
Mech Block-Sherles

Your questions, answered

For a list of frequently asked questions, click here.

For any other questions or communications email local1000elections@seiu1000.org